Concealed Handgun Permit
COUNTY SHERIFFS OF COLORADO CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT INFORMATION
Please read ALL of the following application information and then print and complete the application, or pick up an application packet from our office.Larimer County Sheriff’s Office 2501 Midpoint Drive Fort Collins, CO 80525
*NOTE: Applications are accepted between the hours of 9am-4pm Monday-Friday (except holidays).
Names of CHP holders are NOT public record. Information may be shared with another criminal justice agency upon request for law enforcement purposes or for the purpose of determining the validity of the permit.
If you have additional questions please contact the CHP Coordinator at 970-498-5157.
CHP Application Packet (3 documents):
*** NOTICE ***
By Colorado State Statute, the use of illegal drugs is a disqualifier for issuance of a concealed handgun permit. While the limited possession and conditional use of marijuana is no longer a violation of Colorado Statute, it is still a violation of United States Code. If you use, possess, cultivate or distribute marijuana, we cannot issue you a concealed handgun permit.
If you provide false information on your permit application regarding illegal drug use or any other requested information, you can be charged with perjury pursuant to CRS 18-8-503.
CHP Status Change
Use this form to report an: Address Change, Lost, Destroyed or Stolen CHP
(Form can be brought into our office or mailed in. See address above.)
Please read this information for a CHP renewal: Renewal Requirements
** BE ADVISED as of MARCH 14, 2014, Requirements have changed regarding the renewal process for your concealed permit. Please click this link for further details: http://www.larimersheriff.org/press-release/procedural-change-renewing-concealed-handgun-permit **
RECIPROCITY: Some states may honor your permit. As this information is determined, it will be posted on the Colorado Bureau of Investigation’s web site: CBI Reciprocity page.
New Permit application:
Q: Do I have to make an appointment to submit my application?
A: No, we do not take appointments. You can submit your application anytime between 9am-4pm Monday-Friday (except holidays).
Q: Does CBI take cash or a personal check?
A: No. They will only accept a money order or a cashier's check.
Q: How long do I have to wait to get my permit?
A: It varies between 30-90 days. We can advise current processing time when you submit your application. If there is a problem, we will contact you by phone or by mail.
Q: I've already had my fingerprints done for CBI (teacher, real estate agent, etc.) do I have to do them again?
A: Yes. CBI requires a new set of fingerprints be done for all new CHP applications.
Q: Do you accept a Hunter Safety card for firearms training?
A: At this time we do, if it was issued within the last 10 years.
Q: Where do I go for firearms training?
A: You need to locate a certified (NRA, police, government) instructor. They usually have classes through either a shooting range, a sporting goods store, or independently.
Q: What type of firearms training class do I need to take?
A: A personally attended class given by a "certified" instructor is required. Internet-based training where no direct contact with an instructor, firearms, or physical environment is insufficient.
Q: I got my permit in Larimer County and now I'm moving to another county, how do I transfer the permit (or vice versa)?
A: You don't. As of 2003 your permit is valid statewide. You will need to update your address with us (the original issuing agency) so we can print a new permit with your current address. As of 2014, when your permit needs to be renewed you will have to renew in the county that you currently reside, own a business or own property.
Q: Do I have to submit the address change form in person?
A: No, you can have the form notarized and then mail it in.
Q: How long do I have after I move to submit my address change?
A: You are required to notify us within 30 days or you could be subject to a Class 1 Petty Offense.
Q: Will I receive a renewal notice?
A: Yes, we mail out a renewal packet about 3-4 months before your permit expires. If you no longer live in Larimer County you will receive instructions to renew with your current county Sheriff.
Q: How long do I have to wait to receive my renewed permit?
A: Typically between 2-6 weeks, depending on our and CBI's workload.
Q: Do I need to take another firearms training class each time I renew?
A: No. Only new applicants need to provide proof of firearms training.
Q: My permit says it's valid until the end of the Sheriff's term, is it still valid?
A: No. The Colorado Revised Statutes that were revised in 2003 state that those permits issued prior to May 17, 2003 were set to expire by June 30, 2007 instead of the current Sheriff's term. New permits issued after May 17, 2003 are now valid for a 5- year period. A letter was mailed in early 2007 to those permit holders that were affected by this change and were informed that they needed to renew their permit by June 30, 2007. If you did not receive this notice, please be advised that your permit has now permanently expired and you will need to reapply for a new permit.
Q: I got my permit in Larimer County but now I live in another county and my permit is going to expire soon. What do I do?
A: As of March 2014, you will have to renew in the county that you currently reside, own a business or own property.
Q: I got my permit in another county but now I live in Larimer County and my permit is going to expire soon. What do I do?
A: Contact the CHP Coordinator at 970-498-5157 and request a renewal packet.
Q: My permit expired more than 6 months ago, can I still renew it?
A: No. You only have up to 6 months past the expiration to renew it, after that it is permanently expired.
New CO Resident:
Q: I just moved here, can I use my out-of-state permit while I'm waiting for the Colorado permit?
A: Yes, if we reciprocate with that state and you have an out of state driver's license. Once you become a Colorado resident, your out-of-state permit is no longer reciprocal.
Q: I just moved here from out of state, can I apply for a permit right away?
A: No. You must present your CO Drivers License or ID card when you submit your application.
Q: Does my out of state permit suffice for firearm's training?
A: No. We need to see your original firearm's training certificate that was issued within the last 10 years.
Q: What other state(s is my permit valid in?
A: You can check CO reciprocity on CBI's website for the most up-to-date information: https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/cbi/chpreciprocity